Argyle Baby Quilt

Everyone’s having babies!!! Time for another baby quilt.

Since I’m making this one for a baby boy I thought an argyle pattern would be super cute. I found out what they were painting a shelf for his room in blue and orange, so I decided on this color scheme that turned out to really pop. I think it turned out super cute.

Quilt Front

I started out by cutting some 2½” diamonds of each of my colors. I love my slotted ruler, it makes cutting them so much easier. First I cut 2½” strips then i put them on my cutting mat on the 60º line. (See below) Then I lined up my slotted ruler on the straight lines and cut again at every 2½”. This makes perfect 2½” diamonds like you see below on the left.

2-Cutting1

After I cut all my diamonds, it was time to start sewing. I sew the first 2 patches together after lining up the edges. Yeah, that doesn’t work very well on diamonds. You have to offset the ends by the amount of your seam allowance (¼” in this case) like below.

3-Sewing3

Then sew…

3-Sewing4

…and sew some more…

3-Sewing1

…and keep sewing your strips.

3-Sewing2

Then iron your seams. I decided to iron each seam towards the beige fabric (since it’s every other one). That way when I sewed the rows together, I had offset seams so it didn’t get too bulky.

Then start sewing together your rows. Remember to keep offsetting here as well. Since i ironed all my seams towards the beige, they alternated and i was able to line up the point of the seam that was sticking out from one row to the other and got the patches to match up pretty well.

3-Sewing53-Sewing63-Sewing7

Quilt Back

Once I had all the patches sewn together I sewed a strip for the back of the quilt. I wanted to carry over the diamonds/argyle pattern to the back. (I keep trying to make these quilts difficult on myself) I don’t have any pictures of this, but you’ll see the back on the finished quilt later in the post and get the idea.

Quilting

Next I sandwiched together the backing, batting and front patchwork & pinned it all together to get ready to quilt.

4-Quilting1

I decided on a cute argyle pattern for the quilting. I started off with the idea that I was going to hand quilt with a thicker thread to achieve this pattern. But quickly decided that it wasn’t the greatest ideas since tiny fingers would be holding this and might get stuck.

4-Quilting0

So I ripped that out and went with an orange thread, that I had in my stash, for the quilting. I think it turned out pretty cute.

4-Quilting34-Quilting2

Binding

Now for the binding. I decided to do this fun binding I found on (you guessed it) pinterest. I cut 1½” strips from the navy and 1¾” strips from the orange. I sewed them together with a ¼” seam then ironed  the sewn strip in half. This gives the look of piping on one side of the binding. I sewed it on like a normal single fold binding.

5-Binding1

Final Quilt

I plowed through this one. Finished it in a matter of 5 days. Some not even full days! I think it turned out pretty darn cute.

6-Complete16-Complete2

So until next time, stop pinning and start sewing!!!

One thought on “Argyle Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

